Laferla Trophy 2024: A Weekend of Golf Excellence

Laferla Trophy 2024: A Weekend of Golf Excellence

The Royal Malta Golf Club hosted the Laferla Trophy 2024, one of the four Maltese Majors. This engaging event unfolded over two days, featuring both the challenging Medal round and the competitive skills on the Stableford round.

Highlights of the Laferla Trophy

An engaging and delightful Laferla weekend unfolded, featuring a challenging first round (Medal) amidst difficult, windy conditions, followed by a second round (Stableford) played in sunny better weather.

Three-Way Tie for Top Spot: Tore Lindtveit, Andrew Naudi, and Dorien Mece displayed remarkable skill, each carding a net 66 in the Medal round. Tore secured the lead, with Andrew in 2nd and Dorien in 3rd following a countback.

Sunlit Success: The Stableford round on the second day enjoyed favorable weather, with players like Peter Canaki, Thomas Jacobsen, and Peter Satariano posting good scores. Anders Bergman emerged as the victor with 38 points, securing a narrow lead over the competition.

Anders Bergman Claims the Laferla Trophy

In a display of exceptional golf prowess, Anders Bergman clinched the Laferla Trophy with an aggregate score of 33, outperforming Peter Canaki and Tim Cleasby. This victory underscores the event’s significance as a major Men’s competition contributing to the order of merit points.

An Outlook of the Laferla Golf Trophy

  • Strategic Tournament Design: The Laferla Trophy strategically unfolds over two days, balancing the challenging Medal round with the finesse of the Stableford round.
  • Performance Metrics: Stableford points play a pivotal role, deducted from net medal scores to ascertain the overall winner, contributing to the coveted order of merit points.
  • Laferla Trophy Legacy: Formerly known as the Wedgwood Trophy since 1992, this coveted prize has a rich history, emanating from the legacy of Josiah Wedgwood.